top of page

What it really means to be "mental" pt. II

Despite advancements in mental healthcare and education, ableism is still rampant in American society. From childhood, children refer to each other as “crazy,” “insane,” and “retarded,” often without reprimandation, already creating a barrier between mentally ill and typical children from an early age. This negative attitude toward mental illness continues into adulthood, resulting in the social rejection of people with mental illness.

As a person with Attention Deficit/Hyperactive Disorder (ADHD), I can personally attest to the stigma surrounding mental illness, as well as the stigma specific to ADHD. No one would ever suggest to someone with the flu that it is “all in their head,” or that influenza should be treated with discipline or fresh air rather than medication, but this is a common mindset of many people, including some health professionals, in regards to mental illness. It is believed by many that mental illnesses, including ADHD, are not real medical conditions. My father is one of those people. I was diagnosed with ADHD at the end of my seventh grade year, after several long years of struggling with schoolwork and being isolated and called “stupid” by my peers. ADHD in women and girls often goes undiagnosed much longer than boys, as most research on the disorder was conducted almost exclusively on boys, thus the symptoms of ADHD were based on the disorder’s presentation in boys. Women with ADHD typically exhibit poor concentration and inattentiveness, which are often overlooked.

My life changed drastically when I began taking medication for my ADHD, but to this day, my dad still thinks that I don’t need it. Although this mindset seems to be shifting, there is still a need to educate the public about what it actually means to be “mental.”

bottom of page