top of page

Male Entitlement

The other day, in my cute blue linen halter dress with a plunging neckline, I went into Walgreens to buy some Vitamin Water. I parked in the parking space closest to the door and I walked briskly. I folded my arms over my chest and I kept my head down. I went straight to the juice aisle, making a point not to respond to the “welcome to Walgreens!” that a male employee said cheerily to me. When I got to the register, I had my money ready. I spoke as few words as possible, telling the male cashier that I didn’t have a Walgreens card even though I do, just so I wouldn’t have to speak more to him than absolutely necessary. As he handed me my receipt, I thought I had made it through the experience unscathed, until he called out “have a great day, sexy” at me as I left, smiling like a predator ready to pounce. I did everything I am “supposed” to do, and still, it wasn’t enough to keep a man from giving inappropriate comments about me. It isn’t about how a woman carries herself at all. A woman in a burqa and a naked woman will be subject to the same kind of harassment, because the issue is about power and entitlement, or more specifically, male power and male entitlement. Men are so comfortable harassing women without fear of consequences. They are unafraid to do it at work, in the street, in stores, restaurants, book stores, bus stops, or anywhere else that women are minding their business. 

bottom of page